industry

Blueberries macerating in olive oil, to grace thick Greek yogurt with black sesame seeds and a homemade toasted nut mix: hazelnut, cashew, walnut, pistachio, pine nut, pecan. Sweet potato baking in the oven for tomorrow’s lunch, to feature alongside a bowl of pesto pasta salad with fresh mozzarella, basil, tiny multicolored tomato gems, cucumber, pistachios and pine nuts. Four days of kale smoothie packs ready for the week: some have blueberries and almond butter, others apple and ginger.

Chopped chicken in the fridge is soaking in a bath of ponzu, fresh ginger, rice wine vinegar, hoisin, and white pepper, waiting for its wedding tomorrow night with fat asparagus stalks in smoking hot peanut oil, chiles, sesame seeds. Whole thighs in lime juice, lime zest, cumin, and smoked paprika will meet butter lettuce salads with red peppers, bacon, and cilantro later in the week.

My kitchen has been a sad, dirty slum for months now. I haven’t cleaned, haven’t cooked, haven’t been inspired by any food beyond soup for ages, and I certainly haven’t had the energy to wash and prep and cook for the week to come. It’s been all single-serving yogurt cups, grocery store salads, and delivery over here. Too much packaging, too much waste. I think I finally took Salad Bag Lyfe too far!

This rebound feels restorative and exciting and I hope it takes. I can’t wait to eat all these things and I hope lunchtime only-wants-burgers-and-pizza me will agree.

About alabamagoddamn

To learn about me please see, "What's a Southern Girl Doing in the World?" on my homepage.
This entry was posted in A Southern Girl's Daily Life, A Southern Girl's Work (Is Never Done), What a Southern Girl Eats and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

